An Open Letter to the Trainer that Sold Me a Lame Horse

Dear the Trainer Who Sold Me a Lame Horse,

There are so many things I could say negative about what you and what you did to my horse. What you did to me and my faith in people. I haven’t acknowledged or persecuted you because its irrelevant. My horse who shall not be named is the utmost best horse I have ever owned. Maybe it was meant to be; him and I and you were just the villain in our fairytale. When I saw him, you said “he’s 15.2, registered Quarter horse, who has little to no vices” He ended up to be 14.3, Quarter horse cross, who has vices but only because of you.

He was rode with a german martingale and was pushed through a gymnastics of jumps. I was naive when it came to what he was doing and why. When it came down to our decision to buy or not, You gave me little time to schedule the pre-purchase exam and was very weary about what veterinarian I used. Since that, I went with a vet neither of us knew. He came out decently clean from the exam we did. When I acknowledged the welt on his back you brushed it off as a bite. The vet found little to no tenderness to it so we all brushed it off. You lied. When confronted about blood work you stated that you “ I bute all of my horses after a hard day of lessons” Being a trainer in a well-known area you knew that was the wrong thing to do. You gave me the “take it or leave it choice“. With that choice I decided to take a chance on him. The chance I took cost me not only monetary funds but my faith in the horse community.

However, I want to thank you. You have now given me the life lessons of a lame horse, calcium build up between vertebrae, and scar tissue that has taken treatments after treatments to make manageable. I now know, you can not trust anyone no matter where their stature is in the equestrian level. Despite everything, I still thank you for finding this diamond in the rough horse. I could not find a more mirror of myself then when I look at him. He needed me as much as I needed him. You decided to let go one of the best well hearted horses that gives his all when he can. He is smart, kind, and well minded. I gained not only a lame horse but a horse that now knows what love means. He may never be Teddy O’conner at Rolex but he will be the horse that teaches me a new way of looking at the world. My dream of becoming an Eventer has not stopped but merely put on hold.

You may have lost your way in this sport, seeing horses as objects instead of souls. If that is what gets me to the top then I will stay an amateur for the rest of my riding career. You can stay up in your castle of trickery and hate. While my horse and I will ride and jump through our life together as a team. I registered him as “Be My Silver Lining” cause he brought light to my soul.

Love,

The proud owner of a horse that lost his way.

 

 

Leave a comment